CFSA Regatta winner crowned

Heidi Leach-Lackenby and Scooter’s crew receive their award as overall title winner.

Heidi Leach-Lackenby and Scooter’s crew receive their award as overall title winner.

Peter Mallett, Staff Writer ~

Heidi Leach-Lackenby won the overall title at this year’s edition of the Canadian Forces Sailing Association (CFSA) Regatta.

Leach-Lackenby and her crew in Scooter won four of five races in the sailing competition involving 18 racing teams held in Esquimalt Harbour Sept 22 and 23. Following her win, she was awarded the Frank Heaton Memorial Trophy.

This year’s regatta was the penultimate event in the Vancouver Island Racing Series (VIRS) that features 13 regattas with recreational sailors competing on weekends between April and October at yacht clubs around Vancouver Island. 

CFSA Fleet Skipper Colin Nichols and his team in Jack Rabbit won last year’s CFSA Regatta, while CFSA’s LCdr (Retired) Graham Heath claimed the VIRS overall title.

Heath is again in the running for this year’s VIRS title and at press time was in a two-way tie for first-place in the series standing heading into the final race, the Thermopylae Regatta, held over the weekend at the Royal Victoria Yacht Club.

The CFSA was established in 1946 and operates from Esquimalt Harbour, located at the foot of Maplebank Road. The club’s mandate is to provide recreational sailing opportunities for military members, their families, DND employees and veterans. For more information about the CFSA visit their website

Filed Under: Top Stories

About the Author: The Lookout Newspaper can trace its history back to April 1943 when CFB Esquimalt’s first newspaper was published. Since then, Lookout has grown into the award winning source for Pacific Navy News. Leading the way towards interactive social media reach, we are a community resource newspaper growing a world wide audience.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.